It’s raining Western Jazz

It begins with NPR featuring a band named The Time Jumpers who released an album called Jumpin’ Time, essentially a live recording of the jam sessions / fun playing parties they have every week at The Station Inn in Nashville, TN. I download the album (iTunes link), and find several gems, one of them being a track titled Bring It On Down To My House.


Then NPR features Willie Nelson’s collaborative effort with the country band Asleep At The Wheel on his latest album, Willie and the Wheel featuring several western jazz classics, one of them being a track called Bring it On Down To My House. Ignore the bad visuals in the video below.


Then, one of the blogs I follow, Uber Desi, shows their appreciation of the latest desi contender on American Idol, Anoop “NoopDogg” Desai. Anoop is credited as singing Willie Nelson’s song, Always On My Mind. (Technically, it isn’t Willie Nelson’s song, as a few hundred artists have covered it)

Which, totally takes me back to the first time I heard that song, by the favorite Canadian import of mall-music directors, love-sick teenage girls and women over 35 (I am not sure I fit into either, but I do admit to having a few giddy moments of fandom), Michael Bublé. Here’s him singing Always On My Mind… [.. fading away into those gorgeous eyes… sigh…]

Leave a comment